Kiwiyarns Knits

A blog about New Zealand yarns, knitting and life

A New Year

9 Comments

Hello! It is the eve of another new year! I wish I could say the time has gone fast, but so much has happened, that I think it has been a very full year. It has been an eventful year on many, many, counts. I hope this year has treated you kindly on a personal level. My own has certainly been one of those roller coasters – terrible lows and also incredible highs. I am interested to see what the next 365 days bring!

I don’t have a finished object to show you as knitting time has been a little limited lately. But there are a few nice projects accompanying me into the new year:

img_3071-800x449

This is Regenerate. It should be nearly finished by now, but I made a major rookie mistake knitting this! There are two charts per row for this shawl, and for some reason, I knitted them in the wrong order. I wondered why I had so much trouble getting the pattern to look right and was getting quite frustrated with my knitting skills when I realised, into the third repeat of the second and third charts that I was doing it the wrong way round!!! Major durrh moment, and major sulking occurred as I ripped out the shawl to start all over again.

I re-ordered the printed charts and after a couple of days spent gathering my wits, started again. I am pleased that this time, the shawl is looking like it is meant to. The added bonus is that it is much easier to knit – for some ‘strange’ reason!

I am using Anna Gratton‘s gorgeous silk/mohair/wool blend in the Forest colourway. I really like how it is turning out.

I also have a couple of obligatory socks on the go.

img_3073-800x449

These pretty things are the Waving Lace Socks. I am knitting them in Circus Tonic Handmade’s Revelry sock in the Frilled Monarch colourway. Here’s a closer look:

IMG_3074 (800x449).jpg

The other sock is some gorgeous Stray Cat Socks merino/cashmere/nylon blend:

IMG_3076 (800x449).jpg

These are for the youngest boy, who is now taller than me. I knitted him some socks earlier in the year, and found to my horror that his feet had grown while I finished them. This time, they are man-sized socks!  Let’s hope they last a little while…

As the new year begins to roll in around the globe, I wish you Happy New Year!

May 2017 be a good year for you.

Author: kiwiyarns

Welcome to my blog where I talk about knitting in New Zealand and the beautiful yarns you can find here.

9 thoughts on “A New Year

  1. I love your boy’s sock yarn; the blue looks like it’s glowing. Hau’oli Makahikihou to you and your son. Here’s to 2017.

  2. I know exactly what you mean on the growing feet, youngest’s last pair ended up being for me, he put on foot width while I was knitting them!
    Happy New Year to you, hope you have a fulfilling year.

  3. Your shawl colour is absolutely magic, I LOVE it and the pattern looks nice too. Are you knitting both pairs of socks top down??
    Your life sounds so busy with your full time corporate job. In ways it must be satisfying memtaly and financially and as your boy is growing fast his clothes will be costing arms and legs and add the oldest boy to that list, you probably need to work this new job (or this return to your old job) to simply clothe and feed them. Talking of children, is your daughter home for the holidays this year???
    Enjoy your holiday and enjoy what knitting time you will have over your here holidays.
    Happy New Year and mayb2017 bring you Health and Happnss to our and all your family.
    Hugs Margot

  4. Happy New Year to you, one of the highlights of 2016 for me was getting to meet you in person! It has been a full on year for sure. Looking forward to knitting with you in 2017….

  5. Loving those stripy socks! I’m always a bit scared to do colour work where you have to weave in lots of ends. My end weaving-in always distorts the fabric. Yours looks so neat.

    • Ah, that is where the magic of self-striping sock yarn comes in. 🙂 The yarn has been dyed so that the socks stripe all by themselves, and all you have to do is knit it. Much better than fiddling with all the annoying ends.

  6. What a frustrating mistake in the shawl, but at least you figured it out and it’s going to be gorgeous! Really really love the socks you’re making.

  7. Having the recipient outgrow something while it is on the needles isn’t a problem I’ve encountered yet, but what a problem it is to have! I hope that you were able to fit the socks instead.